Sexual Harassment Prevention Training for Illinois Cosmetologists, Nail Techs, Estheticians, and Teachers

 

NEW Illinois Cosmetology License Renewal Requirement for 2021 – See Below

 

There has been a lot of confusion about this new requirement, so we created this page to answer common questions and help you select the right class.

 

  • A NEW law for 2021 requires all Illinois Cosmetologists, Nail Techs, Estheticians, and Teachers to complete one CE hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention Training to renew your license (also required to reinstate an expired license). This is a brand new requirement for the September 2021 Cosmetology renewal.  A Domestic Violence class that you took for the last renewal will NOT count towards this new Sexual Harassment Prevention Class requirement. You can complete this sexual harassment class online by clicking here.

  • Sexual Harassment training that you completed with your employer will NOT count towards your license renewal unless your employer is approved to offer this class for CE credit.  NOTE: the vast majority of salons are not approved to offer this class for CE credit.

  • This class MUST be taken from an approved provider or it will not count towards your license renewal.  HairDirections is a licensed and approved provider, and we have structured the class to ensure it meets all of the new requirements.  You can complete our online class anytime by clicking here.   

  • If you complete the Sexual Harassment class online through HairDirections, it will count as one of your required CE hours.  For example, if a Cosmetologist takes the online class on this page, it will count as 1 of their 14 CE hours for the September 30, 2021 license renewal.   

  • This Sexual Harassment Class must also be taken to restore, reinstate, or reactivate an inactive / suspended Cosmetology, Nail Tech, Estheticians, or Teacher license.

 

Options for Completing Your Illinois Sexual Harassment Prevention Training 

You can complete the Sexual Harassment Prevention Training online as long as you take the class from an approved provider, and all of the class requirements are met.  HairDirections’ interactive online Sexual Harassment Prevention Training video course meets all of these new requirements and will count as 1 CE hour for the Illinois cosmetology professions (Cosmetologists, Nail Techs, Estheticians, and Cosmetology Teachers).  Two approved options for completing your class online are listed below:

 

Option #1: One CE Hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention Training for Illinois Cosmetology Professionals

This 1 hour online CE class is approved for all Illinois Cosmetologists, Nail Techs, Estheticians, and Cosmetology Teachers.  If you need more CE hours and want to save money, the best deal is to complete this class as part of an online Cosmetology CE class package (see below).  If you just want to take the 1 hour sexual harassment class by itself click here.  

 

Option #2: Illinois Cosmetology CE Package that Includes the 1 Hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention Training

If you want to save some money, you can take the Sexual Harassment Prevention Class as part of a IL Cosmetology CE package. The packages listed below provide 7 CE hours for Illinois Cosmetologists, and include this new 1 hour Sexual Harassment Prevention Class at no additional cost:

 

Foil Freak, SciSSorLeSS, Salon 911 & More Package – This 7 hour Illinois CE package includes the following classes – Foil Freak: highlighting techniques, SciSSorLeSS: Razor tips tricks and techniques, Space Invaders: how to conquer 5 common salon problems that crowd your mental space, HairDirections Lab Experiment: the dish on what clients are really thinking, Salon 911: how to stay cool when things get hot, and Illinois Sexual Harassment Prevention Training. Click here to learn more and register for this class.

 

HairDirections Hit List, Color Geekier & More Package – This 7 hour Illinois CE package includes the following classes – HairDirections Hit List: success in the salon and beyond, Color Geekier: explore your haircolor genius, and and Illinois Sexual Harassment Prevention Training. Click here to learn more and register for this class

 

HairDirections Sexual Harassment Class Description – 1 CE Hour
The following topics are covered in the HairDirections interactive online Sexual Harassment Prevention CE Class for Illinois Cosmetologists, Nail Techs, Estheticians, and Cosmetology Teachers:

  • Sexual Harassment Prevention Training FAQs – learn more about this new cosmetology CE requirement for 2021 and how it affects you

  • An explanation of sexual harassment consistent with the Illinois Human Rights Act

  • What is sexual harassment, including examples of conduct that may constitute unlawful sexual harassment

  • A summary of Federal and State statutory laws concerning sexual harassment including remedies available to victims, what you can do if you experience harassment and reporting problems in the workplace

  • A summary of employer responsibilities in the prevention, investigation, and corrective measures of sexual harassment

  • State and Federal Whistleblower Protections related to Sexual Harassment

  • You can learn more and register for this class by clicking here

 

Rules and Requirements for the IL Sexual Harassment Prevention Training

Some of the official Illinois state rules governing this new required training are listed below.  HairDirections’ interactive online Sexual Harassment Prevention Training video course meets all of these new requirements. 

 

Here are a few of the rules for this course:

 

  • All persons who hold a professional license issued by the Division and are subject to a continuing education requirement shall complete a one-hour course in sexual harassment training.  A licensee may count this one hour for completion of this course towards meeting the minimum credit hours required for continuing education.

  • The sexual harassment prevention training course shall include, at a minimum, the following topics: (1) What is sexual harassment, including its forms and types; (2) What should one do if one experiences or witnesses unwelcome sexual contact; (3) Reporting sexual harassment within one’s place of employment and to outside entities, such as the Illinois Department of Human Rights; and (4) Whistleblower protections.

  • The course shall be presented in a classroom setting, a webinar or online (but it also has to meet specific requirements).

  • The presentation of this course shall be subject to all other continuing education requirements for each profession.

  • Completion of this course shall be a condition of renewing a license.  This requirement shall become effective for all applicable license renewals occurring on or after January 1, 2020.

  • The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) or the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation (DPR) may communicate this requirement to licensees as “Continuing Education (CE) 1-hr Sexual Harassment Prevention Training.”

Note: The list above is only a summary of the Illinois Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Rules that are of most interest to Cosmetology licensees and are not comprehensive. 

 

 

Answers to FAQs for Illinois Sexual Harassment Prevention Training 

The following answers to FAQ’s were provided by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation:

 

A new law passed in 2019 requires individuals with licenses issued by DPR that require CE to renew their license also complete 1 hour of CE on the topic of sexual harassment prevention training. This requirement is in effect for all renewals after January 1, 2020. This new CE requirement can be included in the number of hours already required under the individual Acts and Rules and does not increase the number of hours required to renew a license. 

 

My license is in ‘Inactive’/’Not-Renewed’/’Suspended’ status. Will I need to complete sexual harassment prevention training to restore or reinstate my license? 

Yes, to restore, reinstate or reactivate your license after January 1, 2020, you must complete the training if your profession requires CE. The sexual harassment prevention training can be included in the number of hours required to reactive your license. 

 

I have completed the Domestic Violence CE course required under the Barber, Cosmetology Act. Does that course satisfy this requirement? 

No, unless that course also covered the topic of prevention of sexual harassment. Note added by HairDirections: however you cannot apply a class that you completed for the last renewal to this upcoming renewal. That is, you cannot apply one class to two renewals. 

 

This is my first time renewing my Illinois license – do I need to complete the 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training CE prior to license renewal?

For most professions, individuals are not required to complete CE before their first renewal. If this is the first time you are renewing a license, you do not have to complete sexual harassment prevention training CE. 

 

My profession requires 20 hours of CE. Does this new requirement mean I will need to complete 21 hours? 

No, the sexual harassment prevention training CE requirement can be included in the number of CE hours already required for your profession. 

 

How do I document that I completed the sexual harassment prevention training CE?  Will I have to send proof that I completed the course to the Department? 

Like all other CE you must receive a Certificate of Completion and retain it for your records. The Certificate must include information such as the number of hours completed, the name of the sponsor or provider, and the date the CE was completed. You will not need to provide a Certificate if you renew on time, but you may be asked to confirm that you have completed the training. You may need to provide a Certificate if you renew late, need to restore or reinstate an expired license, or if you are included in a CE audit. 

 

I received sexual harassment awareness training from my employer. Does that count? 

It will depend if your employer is an accepted or approved CE provider, and if you received a CE Certificate for the training. Please check with your employer to see if they qualify.  Note added by HairDirections: the vast majority of employers are not approved to offer this class for CE credit.

 

Is this a one-time requirement or I will have to take this training again? 

Sexual harassment prevention training will be required for every renewal after January 1, 2020. 

 

My profession does not require CE to renew. Do I have to take a sexual harassment prevention training class to renew my license? 

No, if your profession does not require CE you are not required to complete the training.

 

I have multiple licenses issued by IDFPR. Will I have to take multiple sexual harassment prevention classes? 

No, you may use one class to satisfy this requirement for multiple licenses. 

 

I am a State employee or was required to complete the Sexual Harassment training on the State of Illinois OneNet training platform. Does that course count? 

Yes.  The Sexual Harassment Prevention Training completed by State of Illinois employees will satisfy this new sexual harassmet  continuing education (CE) requirement. Licensees may print an updated Certificate of Completion by visiting the OneNet site and logging into their account.

 

Note: the FAQ information provided above represents the latest version of the FAQ document from IDFPR as of January 2021, which was last updated by IDFPR in March of 2020. We recommend that you contact IDFPR or check the IDFPR cosmetology web site for possible updates, changes, or additions to their guidance for this class. 

 

A renewal applicant is not required to comply with CE for the first renewal after issuance of original license.  The information on this page is provided as a courtesy and HairDirections does not make any claims or guarantees regarding the accuracy or completeness of this information. IDFPR or the State of Illinois may make changes to these requirements at any time.  It is up to licensees to verify they are acting on accurate and current requirements and information as it pertains to their specific circumstances.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LIMITED TIME OFFER:  You can take this 1 hour online sexual harassment class right now for only $19.99 by clicking here to register.

 

SAVE EVEN MORE: if you need more CE hours, the sexual harassment class is included in two of our 7 hour online packages at no additional charge!  If you want to take this class as part of a package click here and make sure you select a package that includes the Sexual Harassment class.

CE FAQIf your question is not answered here, send us an email or give us a call at (608) 235-2622 and we would be happy to help you!