Wisconsin Cosmetology CE Requirements - Answers to FAQ's

Greetings! We created this page to help clear up some of the confusion regarding the current Wisconsin Cosmetology  CE requirements. The information below applies to Wisconsin cosmetologists, manicurists, estheticians, cos managers and electrologists.

In Salon CE

 Click on a question below to see the answer*

What is the current CE requirement and who is affected by it?

Wisconsin cosmetologists, cosmetology managers, manicurists, aestheticians, and electrologists with an active license must complete 4 approved CE hours between April 1, 2015 and March 31, 2017.  A class you took before April 1, 2015 will NOT satisfy the CE requirement for the next renewal (you have to take another class).  These 4 CE hours must include 1 hour on laws governing licensees and establishments, and 3 hours on safety, sanitation and infection control. Click here for a list of approved classes. 

We strongly recommend that you read the answer to the next 2 questions below to  determine if you have already completed your class.

I currently have an active license that expires on March 31, 2017. Do I still need to take another CE class?

Yes, you still have to take a CE class during the current biennium or you will not be able to renew your license.  If you are not sure whether or not you have completed a class during the current biennium, read the answer to the next question below to find out.

I already took a CE class before I renewed my license. Do I have to take another one?

Yes, you have to take another class. A class you took before April 1, 2015 will NOT satisfy the CE requirement for the March 2017 renewal (this is because that class counted towards the March 2015 renewal). To put it another way, you have to complete an approved 2017 CE class between April 1, 2015 and March 31, 2017. If you aren’t sure when you completed your last CE class, the actual date should be printed on your CE certificate of completion (Note: your CE certificate is NOT the same thing as your license. Your CE certificate is the document that was given to you by the CE provider after you completed a class).

Here are a few illustrative examples:

Example #1: “I currently have an up-to-date active license that expires on March 31, 2017. Do I still need to take a CE class for the next renewal?” Yes, you still need to take a class (as described above), or you will not be able to renew your active license before the next renewal deadline.

Example #2: “I completed a class in March of 2015. How soon am I allowed to take a class for the next renewal.” The state allows you to take another class right now. You do not have to wait. If you take an approved 2017 class now, it will count towards the next renewal.

Example #3: “I took a class on March 25, 2015 and renewed my license. Do I still have to take another class?” Yes, you do have to take another class before the next renewal of your active license.

Click here for a list of approved classes. 

A brief note for those who renewed late: If you completed a class after March 31, 2015 and applied that class towards the March 31, 2015 renewal (you renewed your license after the deadline) that same class cannot be applied towards the 2017 renewal. That is, you cannot apply one class towards two renewals.

What are my options for completing the CE?

There are several options for completing your CE including: Training Events, In-Salon Classes, and Online Education. Just make sure you select a 4 CE hour class that is approved by the state of Wisconsin for the 2017 renewal. You can find several approved classes by clicking here. CAUTION: there are still many 4 CE hour online classes available that are only for the 2015 renewal (for those who are renewing late). These 2015 classes WILL NOT satisfy the requirement for the next renewal. If you take an online class be sure it is approved for the 2017 renewal. Click here for an online class that has been approved for the 2017 renewal.

When and where are CE Events going to be held?

There are 19 CE Events planned throughout the state during the current biennium.   We will only be in most cities once, and we don’t want to miss you – so be sure to get your tickets to the event closest to you today.  You can find a list of dates and locations by clicking here.

Why do I have to take another class? Is the last class I took through HairDirections invalid?

If you completed a 4 CE hour HairDirections class between April 1, 2013 and March 31, 2015, that class fulfilled the requirements for the March 2015 renewal. That class is absolutely valid for the March 2015 renewal. However, the state requires that you take another class before the next renewal (it is an ongoing requirement to complete CE before each renewal).

What will the CE class be like, and what will I learn from it?

HairDirections has invested substantial resources to make our classes fun, entertaining, and educational with practical information that you can put to use:

  • Who said that safety and sanitation can’t be fun and entertaining? Not us! We have created a unique multi-media format like no other in Wisconsin with humor, prizes, music, great education, and lots of other elements that make it fun.
  • We will tell you about major changes to the WI codebook during the last few years as well as potential changes that may be on the way.  A codebook expert will also be available to help answer your questions about all of these changes.
  • We have heavily invested in the software, equipment, and technical expertise to amp up our events. Would you believe that we literally have a rocket scientist on staff to help us with all of our technical systems? It’s true!
  • Your time is valuable, so we created the Express Class which allows you to complete all of your required CE in only 3.5 hours. Learn more
  • You can read what Wisconsin licensees have been saying about our classes by clicking here
  • You can learn more and register for a class by clicking here

I have been practicing for more than 25 years. Do I have to take a class?

Yes, you still have to take a class to renew your active license. There is no exemption for people who have been practicing more than a certain number of years.

How can I can verify the requirements listed above?

You can verify the requirements by downloading the actual text of the state code using this link

How can I verify that these classes are approved by the state?

HairDirections has been approved by the state to provide CE Events at resorts and hotels, Online CE, and In-Salon CE. You can download a copy of our official approval letter from the state by clicking here. You can also read more about our approvals to offer this education by clicking here and then selecting “Wisconsin” a little ways down the page.

Do I have to pass a test or complete an assignment?

It depends on the type of CE class that you take:

Live CE Classes – If you attend one of HairDirections’ live classes, such as a Training Event at a hotel, or In-Salon Class, then you DO NOT have to pass an exam or complete an assignment. Click here for a list of approved live classes.

Online & Independent Study CE Classes – all Online & Independent Study Classes require you to completed a graded assignment and pass an exam to finish your class. Click here for an approved online class.

What happens if I do not complete any CE for the March 31, 2017 renewal?

If you do not complete an approved CE class for the March 31, 2017 renewal, you will not be able to renew your active license.

What if someone lies about completing a CE Class on their license renewal application?

Yes, this is a pointed question but it is one that we have been getting. When you go to renew your license online you will see a notice that says “Please keep in mind that making a false statement in connection with any application for credential is grounds for revocation or denial.” We are not attorneys, however, our interpretation of this is that someone could have their license taken away if they lie on their application. Some states, such as Illinois, also give out very large fines for falsifying CE records ($1000 or more), however we do not know what this fine may be in Wisconsin.

What should I do if my question was not answered here? Where can I find help?

We would be happy to help you with whatever you need.  You can email your question to us by clicking here or give us a call at 608-235-2622.

CE FAQ

If your question is not answered here, send us an email or give us a call at (608) 235-2622 and we would be happy to help you!

 

*A licensee is not required to complete CE between initial licensure and their very first license renewal. For example, if you just finished school and got your license, you would not need to complete CE before your very first license renewal.

CE FAQIf your question is not answered here, send us an email or give us a call at (608) 235-2622 and we would be happy to help you!